Wheeeee!!!

We were in Klet, Czech Republic, and we were preparing to go to the top of Klet Mountain. We arrived just in time; according to the schedule on the wall, the next ride to the top was leaving any second! We grabbed our water and a few Czech coronas and ran, arriving at the entrance out of breath and feeling every second of our 50-plus years. We paid our fee, opened the door and TA-DAAAA! the next CHAIR was approaching on what appeared to be a communist era chair lift.

When you are expecting a sort of gondola lift and you get a rickety chair lift, either surprise or FEAR is the overarching emotion. We had a bit of both but probably more of the latter, at least at first. We locked eyes and laughed out loud. In for a penny, in for a pound, we stepped into the staging area and prepared for the ride of our lives.

We followed the gestural instructions of the nice gentleman and stepped into the box painted on the floor. We watched over our shoulders as the chairs approached. One by one, my friend and I let the worker shove us into the chairs, which swooped us into the sky. I heard my friend laughing as I spent the first three minutes of the journey trying to figure out how to lock the bar in place so I wouldn’t fall out. When I realized that the pressure of my feet on the foot rest pulled the bar in toward my waist, I practically stood up on it.

DSCN0052

My friend laughing as she settled herself in for the ride.

When we finally got settled in and started looking around, there were absolutely no regrets. Crazy view of the countryside.

DSCN0046DSCN0044

The view from the top was spectacular. It was kind of cold, especially for July, and while it was not so chilly that we couldn’t enjoy it, I admit I wished many times, clutching my arms against my torso, that I’d grabbed my jacket. But at the top, we found some interesting surprises.

DSCN0048

DSCN0051

DSCN0045

DSCN0025

And on the way back down, a bit less terrified now, I was able to relax a bit.

DSCN0055

We were hanging above the ground by tens of meters. 

DSCN0059

A guy with a dog. Who can resist a guy with a dog?

DSCN0013

Oh, my goodness! How old is this kid? Riding ALONE? WTH???? And she wasn’t the only little kid on her own. Apparently Czech kids are smarter than American kids.

 

Beautiful woods line both sides of the chairlift as you journey up and then down again.

If you get the chance, DO IT. Take a jacket, and a few really deep breaths. And DO IT.

About Sunny

I'm an American with a Spanish heart, and one foot in France. But both feet are in Belgium, along with the rest of me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wheeeee!!!

  1. Anna Kachina says:

    Wonderful adventure !!

  2. peter C. says:

    First time I ever rode a ski lift was at Wolf Laurel outside of Asheville, NC; Alone. Then I got to do it again (Solo) in Whitefish, Montana outside of Glacier Nat’l Park. I did it twice it was so exhilarating.

  3. Katherine Armitage says:

    Thanks! Enjoyed. You’re a good writer.

    >

Leave a Reply

