More than London

When Jolly Old England pops into your mind, I’m guessing the images that accompany it are like these:

St Pancras, named after an actual SAINT, not after the internal organ, the pancrEas.

St Pancras, named after an actual SAINT, not after the internal organ, the pancrEas.

House of Parliament and Big Ben

House of Parliament and Big Ben

London's Tower Bridge

London’s Tower Bridge

Shakespeare's Globe Theatre

Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre

DSCN5546

The Proverbial Changing of the Proverbial Guard

The Proverbial Changing of the Proverbial Guard

London! The NYC of the UK, it’s a hot spot for theatre, fashion, music and the arts in general. And every time I cross the Channel, the Motherland (almost all my ancestors were English, Scot or Irish, except for my maternal great grand-mother or grand-father, who was, I think, a full Cherokee in the mountains of North Carolina) blesses me to another treat for the senses.

This time, however, it took me quite by surprise.

One of the many lakes in the Lake District

One of the many lakes in the Lake District

England’s Lake District. I think it may be one of the most beautiful places on Earth.

Centuries-old stone fences run through farm lands

Centuries-old stone fences run through farm lands

Lake District GB 546 A   Lake District GB 524 A    Lake District GB 005  Lake District GB 413 A

Lake District GB 358

I really don’t know why this area surprised me.  My ancestors settled in Western NC because the Smoky Mountains reminded them of home. “My” Blue Ridge mountains harken back to the Lake District’s magnificent hills, valleys, and lakes,with their own smoky fog clinging to them.

My friends are quite lucky to live in such a magnificent place. Can’t wait to return.

Lake District GB 475 A

About Sunny

I'm an American with a Spanish heart, and one foot in France. But both feet are in Belgium, along with the rest of me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More than London

  1. Peter says:

    Thoroughly enjoyed this. Fascinating about settling in the NC mountains because they reminded them of their homeland. I’ve also heard that the folks who settled KY mountains, i.e. The Hatfields/McCoys migrated from the Scottish Highlands for the same reasons. Great touch to use photos more prominently.
    Your friend,
    Peter Crosa
    p.s. Have you ever done your DNA via Ancestry.com or 23andme.com? We might be related.

Leave a Reply

