Giverny

Monet. Van Gogh. Monet. Van Gogh. It’s always a toss up as to which one I love most at any given moment. Van Gogh moves me like no other artist ever has. Every time I see his work, my heart beats faster and can’t seem to tear myself away; I just want to become a part of it somehow.  I’ve wept in front of his paintings. I can’t downplay that. Living just a few miles from where he evangelized the Mons mining community is inspiring every time it crosses my mind. Because I share his Christian faith, I feel a kinship with him as well as loving to drink in his work. 

And then there’s Monet. The first French impressionist I could recognize from his paintings never fails to awaken in me an appreciation for light, shadow and color. Naturally, this summer’s visit to Giverny opened my eyes to just how spectacularly Monet captured those on canvas. Imagine the very GARDEN and WATER that Monet painted, right there in front of you. And then multiply that to the nth power and you’ll be about a quarter of the way to what I felt.

The photos below are a little of what Monet lived and painted at his home in Giverny.

Image

Monet’s Pink House behind a tiny bit of the enormous and overwhelming garden

Lovely waters

Lovely waters

There was lots of water behind the house and garden; water inspires me, and it certainly inspired Monet.

There is a peacefulness here that I’m sure influenced Monet’s love of this compound.

Still Life with Rowboat

Still Life with Rowboat

The Pink House peeks through the trees.

The Pink House peeks through the trees.

DSCN3904

The light through the branches — just try to describe it with words.

DSCN3923

No wonder Monet painted so furiously.

Reflecting flowers

The reflection of the flowers off the water only magnifies their loveliness.

DSCN3860 DSCN3863 DSCN3866 DSCN3869 DSCN3885

Can you decide which flowers you like the best? It was hard for me, too.

This is a visit I strongly recommend. Late spring or early summer are spectacular, but be prepared for crowds. And don’t forget your camera.

Monet and Van Gogh remain my two favorites, and I think they always will. Next stop: the house in Mons where the latter lived. Until then, here’s to embracing the water lilies.

DSCN3927

About Sunny

I'm an American with a Spanish heart, and one foot in France. But both feet are in Belgium, along with the rest of me.
This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giverny

  1. You really evoked the spirit of the paintings with those gorgeous photos.

Leave a Reply

