Feathered Friends

A few days ago on the grounds of the Beloiel Chateau, where I met the Prince (see an earlier post), my friend and I happened upon some rather pretty birds. One beautiful swan made her presence known, and I must say, I was a little sad for here, as she was alone.I suppose everyone knows that swans tend to live in long-term pairs — life-long, I’ve heard.

A lonely swan

A lonely swan

There are a lot of little ponds on the grounds, all man-made, I assume, and many are very sheltered from the wind and most predators.

 

The Chateau peeking out from the sheltering trees.

The Chateau peeking out from the sheltering trees

At least one of the ponds is called “a haven for non-migratory ducks.”  On one of the smaller ponds, in a very private setting, we found a mother duck and her babies.  The babies were swimming virtually pressed against the feathers of their mother, mainly because my friend and I were getting too close taking photos.

Babies and Mama Ducks

Babies and Mama Duck
I think they were scared of us.

I think they were scared of us.

Everywhere we walked, they swam to the other side of the pond.

Everywhere we walked, they swam to the other side of the pond.

A tiny pond for a tiny family.

A tiny pond for a tiny family.

Mama led them and they followed frantically.

Mama led them and they followed frantically.

We weren't really that close to them, but my little point and shoot Nikon has a great telephoto lens.

We weren’t really that close to them, but my little point and shoot Nikon has a great telephoto lens.

As you can see, they were really cute.

As you can see, they were really cute.

As soon as we walked away, they scattered about the little pond!

As soon as we walked away, they scattered about the little pond!

 

Enjoy your safe haven, little family!

Enjoy your safe haven, little family!

 

 

 

 

About Sunny

I'm an American with a Spanish heart, and one foot in France. But both feet are in Belgium, along with the rest of me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feathered Friends

  1. Poor solitary swan 😦

    Your posts mustn’t have come up because I have missed these. Had wondered where you were.

Leave a Reply

